• BOE_6-20-2017


    OBEN Board of Education Recognizes Vernon Students,

    OBHS Spring Athletes, and Retirees


    The Oyster Bay East Norwich Board of Education held its monthly Business meeting on Tuesday, June 20, at 7:30 pm in the OBHS Library. The audience was led in the Pledge of Allegiance by Theodore Roosevelt School second grader, Sophia Pavlovic.


    Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld began her report by inviting James H. Vernon School Principal Dr. Valerie Vacchio and Athletic Director, Kevin Trentowski to the podium to honor many student achievements.


    Dr. Vacchio presented the Citizenship Award saying, “The Vernon Citizenship Awards are presented to two sixth grade students (one girl and one boy) who consistently demonstrate a positive attitude toward their classmates, school, and community. The recipients of this award display an appreciation for civic responsibility, strength of character, and the courage to always choose kind. On behalf of the Vernon School, it gives me great pleasure to present the 2017 Vernon Citizenship Awards to Richard Baugh and Paige Sweeney. Congratulations.”


    Citizenship Award


    Mr. Trentowski presented the Heinz Posch Award saying, “This award is given annually to two sixth grade students who demonstrate outstanding character, have a rigorous work ethic and excel in physical education and athletics. This year’s recipients are Abigail Askeland and Jonathan Goldschmitt.


    Heinz Posch Award


    Mr. Trentowski continued with the Outstanding Elementary Physical Education Student Award saying, “The mission of the Nassau Zone of New York State Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance, also referred to as AHPERD, is to support, encourage and provide guidance to professionals throughout Nassau County in developing and conducting quality programs in Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance.


    This year, the Nassau Zone would like to recognize one male and one female student as Outstanding Physical Education Students. These students have shown a concern for health and wellness, fitness, and embody the values encouraged by the physical education staff in line with the NYS Curriculum Learning Standards. Our recipients are Faith Lingen and Jake Nola.”


    Nassau Zone Award


    The Scholar Athlete Award for two Vernon students were then presented by Mr. Trenowski saying, “This award is given annually to a sixth grade boy and girl who have demonstrated outstanding achievements academically and athletically. Please congratulate Anna Pace and Matthew Piechucki.”


    Scholar Athlete Award


    Mr. Trentowski just couldn’t be dragged from the podium, so he continued with the presentation of many high school athletic awards. Those honored were:


    Coaches of the Year:

    Jay Davis- baseball conference BC

    Victoria Wink & Joe Florio:  Softball conference ABC4

    Coaches of the Year  Coaches of the Year


    All County:     


    From the Class B Runner-Up Baseball team:

    Joe Daniello 

    James Losee                

    Harrison Treble


    From the Class D Runner-Up Girls’ LacrosseTeam:

    Michelle Yu     


    From the Class D Long Island Championship Runner-Up Boys’ Lacrosse Team:

    Bradley Beck

    Brian Schindler


    From the Class B Runner-Up Softball Team:  

    Emily Moore


    Our Top Golfer who made it to day 2 of the Championship Tournament:  

    Seve Garcia-Corradi    

    Seve Garcia-Corradi


    From Our Girls’ Track Team:  

    Laura Angelone            

    Gabby Treble  

    Jen Velasquez


    Academic All-Conference:

    Max Greenspan – Boys’ Lacrosse          

    Luke Puccio – Boys’ Lacrosse

    Aaron Rudnet – Boys’ Lacrosse


    Academic All County:

    Bradley Beck – Boys’ Lacrosse


    Scholar Athlete Award:

    Emily Moore Softball


    County Champion/All County:

    Courtney Kowalsky – Badminton – Singles Champion


    Dr. Seinfeld recognized retiring Personnel Director Janet Bransfield, Teachers Jay Davis, Ellen Rotolo, and Marjorie Vigliotti as well as Board President Jennifer Romeo and thanked them for their years of service to the District.


    Retirees 2017


    Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Dr. Lisa Mulhall showed a video of the Vernon Student Council thanking the Board for getting new swings for the Vernon School playground.


    Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations Michael Cipriani invited members of the BBS Architectural firm to update the Board and Community on the Bond project. Construction will begin this summer.


    Dr. Seinfeld introduced the Board and community to a new teacher hired by the District. Ms. Kim Romeo was hired to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of OBHS Special Education Teacher Ellen Rotolo.


    The next Board of Education work session will be held on Tuesday, July 11 at 7:30 pm in the OBHS Library. All are welcome.





    Tom Gould's Fond Farewell