skip to main content

About Our District

The Oyster Bay-East Norwich Central School District is a small educational community serving a diverse mix of students in three schools: Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School (Grades K-2), James H. Vernon School (Grades 3-6) and Oyster Bay High School (Grades 7&8, 9-12). The district's 13.1 square mile boundaries include the hamlets of Oyster Bay and East Norwich and the incorporated villages of Centre Island, Oyster Bay Cove, Cove Neck, and portions of Mill Neck, Muttontown, Laurel Hollow, and Upper Brookville. The incorporated villages maintain rigid zoning requirements that keep residential growth within the district valued well above average and considerably helps the overall tax burden. The district enjoys the lowest true value tax rate in Nassau County, yet our per-pupil expenditure is one of the highest in the county. The favorable tax base is balanced with the need to be fiscally responsible to all segments of the community.

District Brochure

Please click here to view the district brochure.

Dedicated Education

The OBEN District Administration consists of the Superintendent of Schools, two Assistant Superintendents, the Director of Special Services, building principals, assistant principals (at Oyster Bay High School), and Program Supervisors. The Supervisors' areas of responsibility include English Language Arts, Fine & Performing Arts, Health, Physical Education & Athletics; Math, Science & Technology; Social Studies and World Languages & English as a New Language.

Among our high school faculty are National Board Certified teachers, the highest accreditation a teacher can receive in K-12 education. The faculty also includes two New York State Master teachers in the field of science, a designation that places them among the top K-12 educators across the state in their field. More faculty members are on course for achieving these distinctions. In addition, several department supervisors and faculty have been honored for excellence in their field, with distinctions such as Administrator of the Year, Teacher of the Year, and technology "NASTARS" by the Nassau Association of School Technologists.

Our schools are characterized by strong relationships between a distinguished faculty and students. This interaction extends from the classroom to interscholastic athletics and co-curricular activities.