Oyster Bay-East Norwich

Central School District

Oyster Bay-East Norwich Schools




    The date for the Gr. 11-12 Student & Family Pre-Prom Meeting has been changed from May 2 to May 22 at 6:30 p.m.

    The date for FLACS exams has been changed from  June 17 to June 24. 


OBEN School News

  • OBHS Student Selected for Top Art Exhibit

    The artwork of Oyster Bay High School junior Matthew Tepper is being featured at the highly selective Long Island’s Best Young Artists Exhibition at The Heckscher Museum of Art through May 19.

    Comments (-1)
  • Sixth Graders Celebrate Ancient Civilizations

    Dressed as Egyptian pharaohs and queens, Greek gods and goddesses, Chinese philosophers and other historical figures, sixth-graders at James H. Vernon School presented a living history of Ancient Civilizations for families and friends after weeks of studying the topic in their classrooms and working on independent research projects at home.

    Comments (-1)
  • Science Supervisor Named Administrator of the Year

    Ms. Janna Ostroff, K-12 Supervisor of Science and Technology for Instruction, was named Administrator of the Year by the Council of Administrators and Supervisors. The award recognizes her work in bringing the science department to new levels of success and in leading the rollout of the District’s 1:1 technology initiative with the goal of putting a mobile device in the hands of every student to use as a primary instructional tool.

    Comments (-1)
  • TR Readers' Theater: A Tale of Two Teddies

    Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School 2nd graders in Ms. Jennifer Patti’s class brought city and country teddy bears to the stage when they presented a readers’ theater on the book, Town Teddy and Country Bear by author-illustrator Ms. Kathleen Bart.

    Comments (-1)
  • Roosevelt Saddles Up with A Reading Partner for PARP

    Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School students were invited to “saddle up with a reading partner, mosey on over to a comfy spot and lasso a good book” during its spring Pick a Reading Partner (PARP) campaign.

    Comments (-1)
  • American Revolution Celebration Goes Digital

    Colonial times met digital times when fourth graders at James H. Vernon School used their Chromebooks to create original games and escape room activities for a culminating event that celebrated what they learned about the American Revolution.

    Comments (-1)
  • A Message from the Superintendent

    Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld invites you to pick up a copy of the book, Posted by John David Anderson, and join her for a night of conversation and comradery at her Spring Community Book Club, May 20 at 7 pm in the Oyster Bay High School Library. She also discusses how the practice of Mindfulness is benefitting students districtwide.

    Comments (-1)
  • Students Gain Insight at Breakfast of Engineers

    Oyster Bay High School engineering students gained a better understanding of various engineering disciplines, thanks to the knowledge shared by local professionals during the fifth annual Breakfast of Engineers. The event, coordinated by Ms. Janna Ostroff, the District’s K-12 Supervisor for Science and Technology for Instruction, was developed with the goal of creating a pipeline of capable engineers from Oyster Bay High School.

    Comments (-1)
  • Jessica Layne is Named a News12 Scholar-Athlete

    Oyster Bay High School senior Jessica Layne was recognized as a News 12 Scholar-Athlete for high academic achievement and athleticism in tennis and lacrosse. As a scholar-athlete, she was recently featured in a News 12 segment and was awarded a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by the Bethpage Federal Credit Union.

    Comments (-1)
  • Students Train Teachers for Exercise Science Project

    It’s not often that you see teachers working out in a weight room, coached by students who are pushing them to their limits. But that’s exactly what took place in Mr. Charles Rizzuto’s Exercise Science and Injury Prevention and Management course at Oyster Bay High School.

    Comments (-1)
  • OBHS Senior Thomas Coor is a National Merit Finalist

    Oyster Bay High School senior Thomas Coor was named a Finalist in the National Merit Scholarship Program, placing him among the top one percent of the nation’s brightest and most promising students.

    Comments (-1)
  • Fifty Students Inducted into National Honor Society

    Confirming their academic success and their roles as class leaders, the Oyster Bay High School Chapter of National Honor Society inducted 50 students, March 11. The new inductees bring the total number of members to 135.

    Comments (-1)

OBEN Twitter