• Special Services

    Staff

    Loewy  

    Ellen Loewy – Director        eloewy@obenschools.org

     Dr. Laurie Scimeca

    Laurie Scimeca, Ed.D. – Interim Assistant Director  lscimeca@obenschools.org

     

    DEPARTMENT OF SPECIAL SERVICES FACULTY

     

    Ms. Tressa Probst , Teacher of the Blind and Visually Impaired (TVI)

    Tressa graduated from State University College at Oneonta with a BA in elementary education.  She then obtained her Master’s Degree in Reading Education from Long Island University at CW Post.  Tressa taught in a few private schools before securing a full time teaching position in Sayville Schools.  After taking 10 years leave of absence to have and raise her three daughters, Tressa worked part time as a vision therapist for a low vision doctor.  It was here she found her true love.  She decided to merge her two favorite career paths and went back to CUNY Hunter College to further her career with a permanent certification in teaching students with Blindness and Visual Impairments.   Tressa worked for Metro Therapy for two years providing services for pre-school students with blindness and visual impairments until she was hired by the Oyster Bay- East Norwich School District.  Tressa currently teaches students in all three schools in Oyster Bay as well as St Dominick’s.  She spends a few periods each day in the Baldwin School District teaching braille to a student who resides there as well. 

    email: tprobst@obenschools.org

    HIGH SCHOOL

    Alessandro   

    Candace Alessandro 

    Candace Alessandro has been a member of the teacher staff at Oyster Bay for the last 15 years, with certifications in Special Education, Elementary Education, and Literacy. She earned her Bachelor’s Degree from University of Delaware, and her Master’s Degree from C.W. Post.  She has experience teaching all grade levels, but is currently a member of the middle level team, teaching self-contained reading, resource room, and co-teaching for both 7th and 8th grade ELA and 7th grade Social Studies. Mrs. Alessandro strives to create learning experiences that meet the diverse needs of all students, and hopes to inspire a life-long love of learning. 

    email: calessandro@obenschools.org  

    Batsford  

    Ellen Batsford    

    Ellen Batsford teaches Self Contained English 9,10, 11 and 12 as well as Resource Room 11,12 and Inclusion English 9 and 11 at Oyster Bay High School. She received her Bachelor’s Degree from Oneonta State College in Speech Communications and Anthropology and her Master’s Degree from Long Island University CW Post in Special Education. During her career, she has taught Inclusion English and Social Studies 9 - 12, Resource Room 7 as well as Creative Arts with the Junior and Senior ACE programs. She has also enjoyed teaching extra curricular yoga to the peer partners program. Mrs. Batsford is honored to work with her students and loves helping them to think inferentially,  to write with confidence and detail, and to question the world with deep curiosity.

    Phone: 516 922-6688

    email: ebatsford@obenschools.org

    Brown  

    Matthew Brown    mbrown@obenschools.org  

    Caputo  

    Anthony Caputo                 

    ClassesSocial Studies - 8th GradeGlobal IGlobal IIU.S. History - Regents

     

    Mr. Caputo began his career in teaching at the Developmental Disabilities Institute as a Community Integration Specialist.  From there, he became a teacher of students with Autism for Southern Westchester Boces.  He began his career at OBEN in 1996 as a Special Education Teacher.  He holds dual permanent certification in both Special Education and Social Studies. He has a master's degree from Dowling College and a bachelor's degree from SUNY Oneonta. 

    email: acaputo@obenschools.org

     Diano

    Bridget Diano     

    Ms. Diano has been teaching Special Education for 15 years, and has been working in Oyster Bay East Norwich CSD  for 12 years.   She currently teaches at the elementary and secondary levels.   She received her Bachelor’s Degree from St. Joseph's College and her Master’s Degree from SUNY Stony Brook.  She has had the opportunity to teach students for multiple years and has really gotten to know them and their families really well. She loves working in Oyster Bay because of the small town feel and the tight-knit community.

    email: diano@obenschools.org

    DiBenedetto  

    Jessica DiBenedetto    

    Jessica DiBenedetto currently teaches SC Social Studies 7/8, Jr. ACE English, Math, and Daily Living Skills. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Special Education and Elementary Education from St. Joseph’s College and her Master’s degree in Literacy from Long Island University. This is Mrs. DiBenedetto’s 14th year at Oyster Bay High School. She strives to promote a positive classroom environment where students feel comfortable and ready to maximize their learning.

     jdibenedetto@obenschools.org

    Higgins   

    Kerri Higgins     

    Kerri Higgins has spent her entire educational career in Oyster Bay.  She received her Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees from Dowling College.  Mrs. Higgins is certified in Special Education, Elementary Education, as well as Literacy.  While at Oyster Bay High School, she has taught primarily at the middle level and has taught a variety of different types of classes including ACE, self-contained, co-taught, guided skills, as well as resource room. Mrs. Higgins enjoys working with students while broadening their knowledge in all areas.

    Phone: (516) 624-6500 ext. 5383

    Email: KHiggins@obenschools.org

     

    Hoops  

    Melanie Hoops                    

    Melanie Hoops has been a Special Education teacher at Oyster Bay High School since 2001. She has a Master’s Degree in Special Education from LIU POST.  Melanie specializes in teaching all levels of Math in self -contained and co-taught classes.  Ms. Hoops also teaches Resource Room.

    email:  mhoops@obenschools.org

     

    Markostis  

    Melissa Markostis               

    Melissa Markotsis graduated from James Madison University with a B.S. and M.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders.  She has worked in the district since 2002.  She holds certifications from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) and New York State.  Although she has worked with all grade levels, she currently calls the high school her home and enjoys working with students in grades 7-12. She has a passion for helping her students communicate in the best way they can and hopes her students see her as their biggest advocate.

    email: mmarkostis@obenschools.org 

    Rosario-Ruiz  

    Migdalia Rosario-Ruiz          mrosario@obenschools.org

    Schmermund   

    Carrie Schmermund            

    Ms. Schmermund has been teaching for over 20 years.  She is currently working in the High School teaching Integrated Co-taught English and Science but has worked in numerous other assignments within the district.  Ms. Schmermund feels that it is the greatest privilege of all to be able to do something she loves and is passionate about.  Each year she starts off with the same enthusiasm and joy as she did her first year of teaching.  She is a life -long learner and loves teaching because it gives her opportunities to continue to learn and expand her skills every day.     Ms. Schmermund is not in the classroom, she loves spending time with her family and enjoys to hike, kayak and travel. 

    email: cschmermund@obenschools.org

    Przbyla-White   

    Tara (Stiles) Przyblas

    Ms. Przybylas’ teaching career at Oyster Bay High School has transcended over 17 years, into a passion for creating opportunities for all students. After receiving her Bachelor’s degree at the University of Albany with a concentration in the Sciences, she entered into the Restaurant Management field working both in Manhattan and on Long Island. In 2001 she graduated from Dowling College with a Master’s Degree in Special Education, and her teaching career began. Currently, she works in the High School as both a Resource Room support services teacher, and as an inclusion teacher in the Science Department. Ms. Przybyla also teaches our Life Skills students, providing them with a hands on practical learning experiences they can apply to their everyday daily activities. Her experience in both the Middle and High School has sparked an interest in the area of Transition, where she is currently a member of the NCITT (Nassau County Inter-agency Transition Team). The vision she embraces as a Special Education teacher is to provide all students with the opportunity to succeed in High School, and provide them with the tools they need in order to feel prepared for whatever path they choose to take after graduation.

    email:  tstiles@obenschools.org  

    Riebe  

    Dr. Cara Riebe                           

    Dr. Riebe has been a psychologist for the Oyster Bay-East Norwich School District for over 14 years. She started her time in Oyster Bay at the Vernon School and is currently the psychologist at Oyster Bay High School. Dr. Riebe earned a bachelor’s degree from the University at Buffalo, masters and doctoral degrees in psychology from St. John’s University. She is a New York State Certified School Psychologist as well as a New York State Licensed Psychologist. Dr. Riebe is grateful to have the opportunity to watch the students of Oyster Bay flourish and grow from children to young adults.

    email: criebe@obenschools.org                   

    Sisia  

    Dr. Nicolle Sisia                              

    Dr. Sisia teaches American Sign Language Levels I & II & College Level American Sign Language.  In addition, Dr. Sisia works 1:1 with students in the district who have a hearing loss.  She received a Bachelor's Degree from New York University, a Master's Degree from Columbia University and a Doctoral Degree from Northeastern University.  Dr. Sisia is a certified Teacher of the Deaf, Teacher of American Sign Language and Special Education Teacher.  Dr. Sisia works each day to engage her students in lessons that encourage high level thinking.   Her ultimate goal is for her students to develop a passion for American Sign Language.  

    (516)-624-6500 ext. 5360

    email: nsisia@obenschools.org

                        

    Walch  

    Amy Walch                              

    Amy Walch co-teaches Math Grades 7 and 8, Special Class Algebra, an Algebra AIS class and Resource Room at Oyster Bay High School.  She received her Bachelors degree from St. Joseph's College and her Masters degree from Long Island University.  Ms. Walch is certified in Special Education, Elementary Education and Literacy.  Mrs. Walch has taught various special education classes at both the middle and high school level for the past 18 years.  Mrs. Walch is eager to help her students feel successful and make learning fun.    

     Phone: 516-624-6500 ext. 5363

    email: awalch@obenschools.org

    Woltman  

    Esther Woltman                       ewoltman@obenschools.org

     VERNON

    Boucher   Diana Boucher                         dboucher@obenschools.org

    Alison Chechakos  Alison Chechakos                    achechakos@obenschools.org                                       

    Fazio  Kristie Fazio                               kfazio@obenschools.org  

    Kelly  Colleen Kelly                              ckelly@obenschools.org

    Larke  Christopher Larke                       clarke@obenschools.org

     Mueller Dr. Allison Mueller                      amueller@obenschools.org

     Morgan Margaret Morgan                       mmorgan@obenschools.org 

    Kim Romeo   Kim Romeo                                kromeo@obenschools.org

    Heather Russell   Heather Russell                         hrussell@obenschools.org

    Nicole Silva    Nicole Silva                                nsilva@obenschools.org

     Sisia  Dr. Nicolle Sisia                               

    Dr. Sisia teaches American Sign Language Levels I & II & College Level American Sign Language.  In addition, Dr. Sisia works 1:1 with students in the district who have a hearing loss.  She received a Bachelor's Degree from New York University, a Master's Degree from Columbia University and a Doctoral Degree from Northeastern University.  Dr. Sisia is a certified Teacher of the Deaf, Teacher of American Sign Language and Special Education Teacher.  Dr. Sisia works each day to engage her students in lessons that encourage high level thinking.   Her ultimate goal is for her students to develop a passion for American Sign Language.  

    (516)-624-6500 ext. 5360

    email: nsisia@obenschools.org

     

    Jennifer Spelatis  Jennifer Spelatis                           jspelatis@obenschools.org

     Sterbens Erin Sterbens                             esterbens@obenschools.org

     ROOSEVELT                 

    Darcey   Deanna Darcey                           ddarcey@obenschools.org

    Novello  Tobi Novello                                  tnovello@obenschools.org

    Mulstay  Cindy Mulstay                               cmulstay@obenschools.org

    Paladino  Jessica Paladino                            jpaladino@obenschools.org

    Rosario-Ruiz   Migdalia Rosario-Ruiz                   mrosario@obenschools.org

    Surace  Jaime Surace                              jsurace@obenschools.org  

    Vieweg  Tracy Vieweg                              tvieweg@obenschools.org