• Observer Newsletter Header

    76 Inducted into National Junior Honor Society

  • Continued from cover

    In addition to Elisia, the officers included Vice President Bridget Zahradnik, Secretary Sara Bonifacio, Treasurer Nathaniel Yee, and Publicity Officer Yianni Leandrou. Fundraising Chair Arianna Wulffen lit the candle for service. 

    Arianna led a fundraiser for the YOLO Strong Foundation that raised close to $2,000. YOLO, which stands for You Only Live Once, was formed six years ago by a group of local women with a desire to help sick children and their families who are “suffering from adversity and are trying to overcome life-changing circumstances.” Arianna said her mother joined the organization “to help keep the memory of her close friend alive” after she succumbed to cancer. “Since its inception, YOLO has grown to more than 100 members and now teens and kids are getting involved too,” she said. “All funds raised go directly to the organizations supported by the YOLO Foundation, including The Morgan Center, Danny’s Wish, Contractors for Kids and Angela’s House,” she added.

    Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld and Oyster Bay High School Principal Ms. Sharon Lasher both offered words of praise and encouragement to the new inductees.

    Assistant Principal Ms. Lara Gonzalez invited the inductees to the stage and chapter President Elisia Gallo presented them with certificates and then administered the pledge, bringing the total number of National Junior Honor Society members to 169.

    Chapter Advisor Mrs. Antonia Woodman, who announced her retirement this year, closed the ceremony by sharing the society’s traditions, one of which is presenting a white rose to each officer as a token of gratitude for organizing the evening’s induction ceremony. The officers accepted the roses and, in turn, presented Mrs. Woodman with a bouquet to show their appreciation for her guidance and mentorship.

    To be considered for membership into National Junior Honor Society, students must demonstrate excellence in the five pillars of the organization and possess a cumulative grade-point average of 87.5. As members, students are required to attend monthly meetings and participate in service projects. Click here for more information on National Junior Honor Society.

    Inductees seated in the auditorium before ceremony

    New National Junior Honor Society members, above and below, are all smiles. 

    new NJHS members are all smiles.


  • NJHS Officers

    From left are National Junior Honor Society Publicity Officer Yianni Leandrou, Vice President Bridget Zahradnik, President Elisia Gallo,  Secretary Sara Bonifacio and Treasurer Nathaniel Yee.

    NJHS Officers with YOLO shirts

    The Officers show their support for the YOLO Strong Foundation fundraiser chaired by Arianna Wulffen.

    candle lighting ceremony

    The officers and fundraising chair take part in the candle-lighting ceremony marking the five pillars of the organization.

    Arianna Wulffen chaired the fundraiser for the YOLO Foundation

    Fundraising Chair Arianna Wulffen speaks about the YOLO Strong Foundation and the success of the fundraiser.

    NJHS inductees take the pledge

    Seventy-six inductees take the National Junior Honor Society pledge.

    NJHS advisor with flowers

    National Honor Society advisor Ms. Antonia Woodman was presented with a bouquet after delivering her last closing speech at the National Junior Honor Society induction.


  • Excellence for All Newsletter footer