• Observer Newsletter Header

    A Banner Year for OBEN Toy Drives

  • Continued from cover

    According to high school advisors Ms. Deanna Cali and Ms. Danielle Urtheil, the high school’s Be the Change Club and the Student Council raised close to $700 to purchase items for teens in addition to collecting toys for children in need. Also adding to this year’s success was a raffle basket donated by Christina’s Epicure in East Norwich that raised over $100 and social media posts to parents by staff member Ms. Elfia Presta. Flyers, morning announcements, website posts and emails to staff and the community also helped spread the word.

    Vernon School Student Council, advised by 5th grade teacher Ms. Diana Hauser, tallied nearly 350 toys, a marked jump over last year, thanks to the student body and staff, as well as the Bay Service Unit of Girl Scouts of Nassau County.

    “This drive is important because some parents can’t afford to get kids gifts and giving gifts to them will brighten up their day and make them happy,” said Student Council Co-President Charlise Winter, a 6th grader. “The holidays are not about receiving the gifts it’s about giving the gifts and making someone’s life happy.”

    “Our students did an amazing job with the drive,” added Co-President Themis Megaris, also a 6th grader. “I’m really proud of them.”

    At Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School, social worker Ms. Migdalia Rosario coordinated a drive that also brought in dozens of toys for the community.

    The toys and other items from each school were bagged and donated to the Interreligious Human Needs Council of Oyster Bay where they will be distributed to families in Oyster Bay and East Norwich.

  • high school student council

    Leading the Oyster Bay High School toy drive are Student Council Officers Cameron McKeon, Michelle Ruzzier, Jason Hom, Maia DiFiglia, Katherine Pinnock and Ryan O’Keefe.


    vernon toy drive

    Pictured with advisor Ms. Diana Hauser are Vernon School Student Council Officers Themis Megaris, Finn Trotman, Charlise Winter, Mia Bencal, Connor Walsh and Quinn Rainey.


  • Excellence for All Newsletter footer