• header

    Eleven Stand-Outs Inducted into OBHS Athletic Hall of Fame

  • Top athletes from the class of 2009-2012 were proudly inducted into the Oyster Bay High School Athletic Hall of Fame during its Seventh Induction Ceremony.

    The stellar lineup included Katelyn Elizabeth Collins and Alex Hudak, class of 2009; Kerri Apicella and Jake Robinson, class of 2010; Joshlyn Sherma Grant, class of 2011, and class of 2012 graduates Matt La Rosa, Joseph Siringo, Jr., Jack Le Guelaff, Jack Greenfield, and Robert Morgan. Also inducted was retired coach and health and physical education teacher, Tim Brady, 1988-2015, who coached varsity softball, soccer and bowling; won multiple conference, county and Long Island championships; made two New York State Final Four Appearances, and won numerous Coach of the Year awards.

     “The 2017 class of inductees is an extraordinary group of athletes that has given so much to the school and community of Oyster Bay during their time in our program. We extend their influence by keeping their legacy in our hallways for generations to see,” said Kevin Trentowski, Director of Health, Physical Education and Athletics and host of the event. 

    The champion athletes were selected by a Hall of Fame voting committee. Among the chosen were All-New York State baseball players, two of Nassau County’s “Most Outstanding” wrestlers, All-Long Island fencers, two MVPs, a cross country runner who qualified for the New York State championship four times, a four-year varsity athlete in three sports who was a 1,000-point scorer in basketball, and others who, as a group, earned numerous conference, county, Long Island and state championships.

    Surrounded by the rich history and traditions of Oyster Bay athleticism, the class of inductees took their permanent place in the Hall of Fame before family friends and Oyster Bay High School coaches, faculty and administrators. Current student and football and wrestling athlete Thomas Seslowsky, who also participates in Wind Ensemble and Chamber Singers, sang the National Anthem. Inspiring remarks were delivered by Superintendent of School Dr. Laura Seinfeld, Oyster Bay High School Principal Ms. Sharon Lasher, Board of Education Trustee Mr. Todd Cronin and Chairperson of the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee Mr. Elliot “Butch” Garrison.

    Each of the inductees received a beautiful plaque featuring his or her photo and achievement in the Baymen’s gold and purple colors. On behalf of all the inductees, Jake Robinson from the class of 2010 delivered the acceptance speech.

    Thanks go out to the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee for the thought and devotion they put into the selection process. In addition to Mr. Garrison, the committee includes Frank C. Baker, Suzanne Collette, Erin Murcott, Barry Ranaldo, Ron Roby, Bob Scamell, Karen Testa, Stephen Wasilchuck, Christopher Weber and Andrew Woodstock. Special thanks is also extended to the Board of Education, Central Administration, the Oyster Bay Athletic Booster Club, Athletics secretary Mrs. Elaine Ranaldo, head custodian Mr. Scott Lyle and staff, the high school library staff and the grounds crew for making the induction ceremony a success. 

    The Athletic Hall of Fame Committee is seeking nominations for possible induction into the Hall of Fame in the fall of 2019. Community input is valued and necessary for nomination. To nominate an athlete believed to be worthy of enshrinement, please visit the Oyster Bay High School Athletics page on the district’s website at https://www.obenschools.org/domain/18 for all forms and information required for consideration.

  • hall of fame inductees get awards

    Hall of Fame Committee Chairperson Elliot "Butch" Garrison and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld present plaques to the athletes upon their induction into the Hall of Fame.

    Hall of Fame coaches, committeemembers 2017

    Pictured from left are physical education teacher and coach John Brush, coach & Hall of Fame committee member Bob Scamell, retired coach and physical education teacher Jay Davis, physical education teacher and Hall of Fame committee member Erin Murcott, and coach Doug Axman.

    hall of fame

    Oyster Bay High School’s Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2017 includes, from left, Robert Morgan, Alex Hudak, Jack Greenfield, Joseph Siringo, Jr., Jack Le Guelaff, Katelyn Elizabeth Collins, Jake Robinson, Kerri Apicella, Joshlyn Sherma Grant, and Matt La Rosa. Inductee Tim Brady is not pictured.

    Click here for more information on the Hall of Fame Inductees

    Order Your School Apparel Online!

    The Oyster Bay Athletic Booster Club (OBABC) has created an online store.  Please click on the following link if you are interested in purchasing school apparel.  A percentage of the cost will go to the OBABC and support our student athletes. https://oysterbayboosters.itemorder.com/sale






  • footer