Return to Headlines

OBEN Board of Education Slate, Trustee Sworn In

A newly elected slate of officers and a new Board of Education trustee were sworn into office during the annual reorganization meeting that was held virtually in the Oyster Bay-East Norwich Central School District, July 14.


Trustee Mr. Darren Gerbosi was administered the Oath of Office by District Counsel Ms. Mary Anne Sadowski, beginning his four-year term. Former Board of Education Vice President Ms. Laurie Kowalsky was elected President and Trustee Ms. Nancy Castrogiovanni was elected Vice President.


Mr. Gerbosi comes to the Board with 30 years’ experience in finance and as a volunteer in the community for 16 years. A resident of Oyster Bay since 2004, he most recently served as a vice-president of the OBEN Elementary PTA and has been President of Oyster Bay Youth Baseball and Softball for the past 12 years. Professionally, he is a Managing Director of Global Sales for FIS, a financial technology firm that employs 65,000 people worldwide.


Mr. Gerbosi and his wife, Jennifer, have two children in the District. Sophia is going into 7th grade at Oyster Bay High School and Jack is going into 5th grade at Vernon School in September. His eldest son, Brian, is a senior at Bowling Green University.


Mr. Gerbosi said he is excited to continue volunteering at the highest level as a Board of Education Trustee and is especially honored to represent families with children at the elementary level. During his tenure on the Board, he hopes to focus on more opportunities in science, technology and foreign language, particularly at the elementary level.


Other members of the Board of Education currently include Trustees Mr. Todd Cronin, who served as President this past school year, Mr. John McEvoy and Ms. Maryann Santos.


In addition to the Board of Education, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld, District Clerk Ms. Margaret Nolan and Treasurer Ms. Linda Ninesling were also administered the Oath of Office.   


Board of Education meetings are open to the public and are typically held twice a month at 7:30 p.m., either virtually or in the Oyster Bay High School Library.  Meetings are livestreamed and can be accessed under "Quick Links" on the District website. 

Darren Gerbosi-BOE member  Laurie Kowalsky  Nancy Castrogiovanni

From left are newly sworn in Board of Education Trustee Mr. Darren Gerbosi, Board of Education President Ms. Laurie Kowalsky and Board of Educatin Vice President Ms. Nancy Castrogiovanni.