Return to Headlines

OBHS Lights Up Stage with 'Broadway in Oyster Bay'


Show-stopping numbers from the Great White Way came to Oyster Bay High School, Nov. 1, when the Fine and Performing Arts Department presented the middle level musical revue, Broadway in Oyster Bay. Talent shined as 7th and 8th grade students sang and danced across the stage to some of Broadways’ most memorable numbers, including 'Proud Mary" from the show "Tina," "Dangerous to Dream" from "Frozen" and "So Far Away" from "Beautiful," and many more.


“The energy and enthusiasm our students brought to the stage was truly electrifying,” said Mr. Anthony Femino, K-12 Fine and Performing Arts Supervisor and Producer of the show. “Congratulations to our middle level cast and crew for making this production a success. I look forward to seeing these students in future performances as they advance through high school.”


The show was conceived and directed by Mr. Spencer Glass who said, “The greatest part of being at the middle school age is having no inhibitions as an artist and truly letting yourself go. Watching these students come into rehearsals already courageous, and leaving completely fearless, has been mind- blowing and inspiring. It has been an absolute pleasure to see them dazzle their audience with their talent and energy.”


 Mr. Glass worked countless hours coaching students on their delivery of both their monologues and songs. Vocal Director Mr. James Crichton worked equally as hard teaching students their songs, and Assistant Producer/Theater Arts Director Ms. Maria Randazzo worked closely with the technical/art design crew.


The show featured performances by Franchesca Alejo, Daniela Brizo, Samantha Charron, Olivia Cruz, Grace Curry, Omar Figueroa, Nicole Krumholz, Omek Kumar, Brooklyn Matt, Kaylie Mayer, Samantha Myers, Ella Reardon Rizzo, Robert Ross, Evangeline Russo, Audrey Underberg, Nicole Walsh, Julianna Wilson and Charlise Winter.


The technical/art design crew consisted of Emily Apac, Julia Cutajar, Elizabeth Figueroa, Rebecca Keller, Omek Kumar, Muskan Kumar, Ella Lingen, Maria McKevitt, Jillian Pascucci, John Purcell, Matthew Tepper, Emily Wiesenfeld and Joycelin Wong. The show was accompanied by Mr. Crichton on piano, Mr. Edmund Chiarello on percussion and Ms. Adrianna Schaefer on bass. Lighting and sound was provided by Glen Scott Designs.