Return to Headlines

Board of Education Takes Oath of Office


Todd Cronin gets sworn in as Board President  Laurie Kowalsky is sworn in as vice president

Attorney Ms. Susan Gibson administers the Oath of Office to Mr. Todd Cronin, left, and Ms. Laurie Kowalsky.


Re-elected Board of Education members Mr. Todd Cronin and Ms. Laurie Kowalsky were sworn into office and then elected President and Vice President, respectively, during the District’s annual reorganization meeting this month.


Mr. Cronin, a retired Nassau County Police Detective, previously served a four-year term and was Vice President of the Board for the 2018-19 school year. He is a lifelong resident of the District and an alumnus of Oyster Bay High School. Mr. Cronin hopes to continue his work on the Board to improve student achievement, transportation, and technology opportunities for students while remaining fiscally prudent. He has two children in Oyster Bay High School, Connor, a senior, and Kayla, a sophomore. His son, Sean, graduated and currently attends the University of Delaware.


Ms. Kowalsky, a patent lawyer, also served four years on the Board as a trustee. A 25-year resident of the District, she has chaired numerous PTA committees, was Vice President of PTA Council, and sat on several school committees. Ms. Kowalsky, who holds a Bachelors of Engineering in electrical engineering from Stony Brook University and a Juris Doctor degree from Hofstra University, believes that the most important issues facing the school district are improving academic achievement, test scores and college placements, and feels the Board is focused on these issues for the future. A mother of three, her daughter, Rachel, is a junior at Oyster Bay High School. Her son, Kevin, graduated and attends Washington University in St. Louis and her daughter, Courtney, graduated and plays varsity tennis for Brown University.


Other members of the Board of Education for the 2019-20 school year include trustees Nancy Castrogiovanni, Robin Dando, John McEvoy, Aliex Ross, Ed. D., and Maryann Santos.

Dr. Laura Seinfeld is sworn in as superintendent  Margaret Nolan is sworn in as district clerk  Linda Ninesling is sworn in as treasurer

In addition to the Board, Superintendent of Schools Laura Seinfeld, Ed. D., District Clerk Margaret Nolan and Treasurer Linda Ninesling were also administered the Oath of Office.


The Board of Education meetings are open to the public and are typically held twice a month at 7:30 p.m. in the Oyster Bay High School Library. The next Board of Education meeting will be held on Tuesday, August 6.  For information on Board of Education meetings visit the Board of Education tab on District website.

Board of education 2019-20

Members of the Board of Education, standing from left, are Vice President Ms. Laurie Kowalsky, Mr. John McEvoy, President Mr. Todd Cronin, and Ms. Nancy Castrogiovanni. Seated, from left, are Ms. Aliex Ross, Ed. D., Ms. Maryann Santos and Ms. Robin Dando.