Return to Headlines

Fifty Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Confirming their academic success and their roles as class leaders, the Oyster Bay High School Chapter of National Honor Society inducted 50 students, March 11. The new inductees bring the total number of members to 135.


To be inducted into National Honor Society, students must demonstrate excellence in the four pillars of the organization: scholarship, service, leadership and character; and maintain a grade-point average of 90 or higher. Students in the second semester of 10th grade through 12th grade are considered for admission.


Held in the Oyster Bay High School auditorium, 85 National Honor Society member sat on stage behind the new inductees as the ceremony unfolded before family and friends.


Underscoring the meaning of the four pillars, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Laura Seinfeld advised the inductees to “Continue to take risks, lead, serve the greater good, and always, choose kind.”


Publicity Officer Julia Sherbal called each of the four National Honor Society officers — President Sarah Conway, Vice President Sophie Kaiser, Treasurer Isabella Rosenthal and Secretary Jessica Layne — to the Honor Society dais to light a candle that represented each of the four pillars.


Once the candles were lit, she introduced social studies teacher Ms. Lauran Harnick who was selected by the society to be an honorary member. After some congratulatory words from Principal Ms. Sharon Lasher, the inductees were introduced one by one for a certificate as their accomplishments were announced. President Sarah Conway then administered the Honor Society Pledge as the inductees stood with their right hand raised.


The program concluded with remarks from Oyster Bay High School Assistant Principal Dr. Lara Gonzalez, who encouraged student to think about what their legacy will be. “Is there an issue that requires creative problem-solving…Do you know of students who could benefit from your wisdom and experience … keep doing good work and, through your example, inspire others,” she said.


As members of National Honor Society, students are required to perform service projects. One of the various ways members serve others is to provide tutoring services to students who need extra support. Tutoring request forms are available HERE.  


Congratulations to the National Honor Society Inductees

Peter Amendolara, Ava Aschettino, Anabella Ballone, Brianna Barefoot, Brianna Baugh, William Capone, Jennifer Collette, Miriam Coor, Rachel DiCarali, Maia DiFiglia, Caitlin Fuschetto, Sophie Grady, Helen Grassi, Daniel Grassie, Charlese Greco, Riya Gupta, Jillian Haguisan, Rebecca Keller, Alina Kelly, Molly Kelly, Colette Kilfoil, Rachel Kowalsky, Muskan Kumar, Samuel Lingen, Salvatore Mangano, Bianca McEvoy, Brigid McEvoy, Skylar McEvoy, Neal Mehta, Manuel Panariello, Brenda Perez Pelaez, Brissa Perez Pelaez, Nicholas Piarulli, Beryl Rosenberg, Preston Rosh, Noah Rudnet, Aidan Russo, Stefanie Sadocha, Grace Scamell, Olivia Shall, Anna Silver, Julia Singer, Lauren Swezey, Nichola Tardugno, John Tiberia, Jackson Troxler, Calogero Tumminello, Kayleigh Wieboldt, Mathhew Wong and Juilliard Wu.