• New header

    All-County Musicians to Perform in January

  • Nearly 30 students from the Oyster Bay-East Norwich Central School District will showcase their musical talents alongside the best musicians countywide when they perform at the Nassau Music Educators Association All-County Music Festival at Tilles Center for the Performing Arts in Greenvale, Jan, 7 and Jan. 12-14.

    Students were selected for the festival based on their New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) evaluations and teacher recommendations.  The selections were announced during various winter concerts held in the district throughout December.

    Oyster Bay High School students chosen to perform at the Division V level are seniors Victoria Carchietta on flute, choral members Kate Devereaux, a soprano, and Thomas Seslowsky, a bass; and junior Michael Biggiani on trombone. Ms. Carchietta also had the sole distinction of being an alternate for NYSSMA’a All-State Winter Music Festival.  This is a great honor that only a few students throughout the state receive each year.  

    Performing at the Division IV level are sophomores Kristen Aasheim on clarinet, Erica Duke on French horn, Alessandra Martorella, a soprano in the chorus; and Stephanie Vojvodich on trumpet, as well as freshman Jillian Haguisan on flute. Ensembles for both levels will perform on Saturday, Jan. 13.

    At the middle level, eighth graders Kevin Briggiani, a trombone player; Bryan Brady, a trumpet player; Dante Castellano, a chorus member; Taylor Hall, a French horn player; and Claudia Paolucci, an oboe player; will take the stage in the Division III ensembles on Friday, January 12.

    From James H. Vernon School, sixth graders Franchesca Alejo on French horn, Grace Curry, a soprano in the chorus; Christopher Dean on alto saxophone, Sophia Sattar-Reiss, an alto in the chorus; and Gabriela Torres on flute will perform at the Division II level on Sunday, Jan. 13. Fifth graders chosen to perform include Landon Baugh on trombone, Olivia Cruz, an alto in the chorus; Eric Kaufman on trombone, Noelle Montick on French horn, and chorus members Samantha Myers, an alto; Lauren Pinnock, a soprano; Tyler Rosasco, an alto; Evangeline Russo, a soprano; and Nicole Walsh, also a soprano. Their ensembles take place on Sunday, Jan. 7.

    These achievements were made possible through the guidance of high school band and wind ensemble teacher Mr. Matthew Sisia and chorus teacher Ms. Meagan Finnerty; middle level band teacher Mr.  Michael Giannetta and chorus teacher Ms. Melissa Kozee, and elementary band teachers Mr. Joe Devassy and Ms. Lauren Macy, and chorus teacher Mr. Louis G. Costidis.

    “We are extremely proud that our students will represent Oyster Bay-East Norwich in these selective ensembles,” said Fine and Performing Arts Supervisor Mr. Peter Rufa. “This distinction  affirms their dedication and commitment to excellence and is a testament to the quality of our talented staff and our music program as a whole.”

  •  OBHS all-county musicians 2017

    The Oyster Bay High School students selected for the upcoming All-County Music Festival, in back row, from left, are Victoria Carchietta, Michael Briggiani, Thomas Seslowsky, Kate Devereaux, Alessandra Martorella, Kevin Briggiani and Claudia Paolucci. In front row, from left, are Stephanie Vojvodich, Kristen Aasheim, Erica Duke, Jillian Haguisan, Brian Brady, Dante Castellano, and Taylor Hall. 


    Vernon All-County musicians 2017

    James H. Vernon School fifth- and sixth-grade students who were named All-county musicians are pictured with their teachers. In the back row, from left, are band teacher Mr. Joe Devassy, Fine and Performing Arts Supervisor Mr. Peter Rufa, Principal Dr. Valerie Vacchio, student-musicians Sophia Sattar-Reiss and Lauren Pinnock, and band teacher Ms. Lauren Macy. In the middle row, from left, are chorus teacher Mr. Louis Costidis and student-musicians Gabriella Torres, Olivia Cruz, Landon Baugh, Eric Kaufman, Noelle Montick and Grace Curry. Sitting, from left, are Nicole Walsh, Franchesca Alejo, Christopher Dean, Samantha Myers and Tyler Rosasco. Evangeline Russo is not pictured. 


  • New footer